Carpe Diem

Today I am 24 years old. What a crazy age. I would be lying if I said I was unhappy. I’m six months into my second position at the career level, I have a fantastic boyfriend and some of the best friends a girl could ask for. I ran a half marathon in September and completed my second Tough Mudder in October. I recently joined the local roller derby team and it’s a ton of fun. Things are going really well.

So why is this a crazy age? Because I’m confused and a little lost. I feel like I’m constantly being told what to do next and answering questions about where I’m going with my career, when I’m getting married or where I’m settling down. Have I thought about getting a new car? Am I aware that it’s cheaper to pay toward a mortgage than it is to pay rent? Then I’m asking myself the same and other questions. Should I be pushing to maximize on a certain skill in my current position that could get me further in the long run? What type of position do I want next? Why don’t I know? Should I be doing the same thing as this or that perseon my age? Should I feel more ready to settle down? What’s the right answer?!

ENOUGH! I’m sick of it. I’m only 24! I want to travel a little more before I have a dog, a family or something holding me back. No, I don’t know what the next step in my career is. No, I don’t know when I’m getting married. And no, I do not regret joining roller derby instead of taking a marketing or business course. I want to stop thinking so much about ten years from now, five years from now, even a year from now and just live.

So many people are scared to die, but I’m scared I won’t have a chance to live enough. I want to have fun and do the silly things. Yes, I would love to attempt a corn maze with you or make goofy snowman crafts. I love taking weekend trips to visit friends and family. I want to see the Australian Outback, suffer through bad hairstyles and have one too many glasses of wine.

So stop asking questions and just live a little with me. You’ll love it.

Leave a Reply

