Locked In

My Senior year of college my roommates and I found ourselves locked inside our apartment. It was like our own little escape room, free of charge. Except there were no riddles to solve and we had to wait inside until someone from maintenance freed us.

Let me tell you how I found out about the situation. Now, before I start with the story, I would just like to mention that at the time I was working for campus security. It was a wonderful job but called for some overnight shifts so my sleep schedule was pretty out of whack.

At about 8:30 that morning banging and sawing sounds woke me up. Somehow I knewdeadbolt-3 immediately the sounds were coming from the front door or our apartment and I was positive it was being broken into. So what do I do? I scrambled out of bed, which was far from easy from the top bunk, grabbed the closest weapon I could find and charged into the kitchen ready for anything.

In my head I looked menacing enough to stop whoever was breaking in and I was properly armed. In reality, I simply looked like an idiot dressed only in underwear and a large T-shirt wielding a plastic lightsaber. Although I probably did look a little terrifying since I had been awake for all of 30 seconds and I am not a morning person.

Before you ask, no this is not the first time I made a fool of myself. I once wore a shirt inside out all day without realizing it. Sometimes I feel like it was almost like training for this part of my life. If I could look unflinchingly in the eyes of the guys I drooled on during a flight to Missouri or walk away with my head high after punting a security alarm at a museum in Australia I can totally navigate my twenties.

If you haven’t picked up on it yet I am a bit of a walking disaster. But that’s what this blog is for right? Don’t worry I promise to share success stories as well.

Do you have something you would like to share? Message us on Along Those Lines or get ahold of me. I’d love to hear from you. I’m willing to take post requests, assist you with writing a guest post or just listen to anything you need to talk about. I’m here for you and not just to share ridiculous stories about my life.

Oh, and I should probably mention we were able to “escape” our apartment that morning not long after my “display of bravery.” You wish you were as a cool as me.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

