The Evils of Social Media

I would like to start off by clarifying that this post is purely about my personal social media and has nothing to do with my job. I would also like to say I am not judging anyone or looking to start an argument. That being said this post is for everyone that loves posting on social media but has also considered deleting their accounts. These are my thoughts on the love hate relationships I have with my social media.

It’s a time suck…

Five minutes on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter becomes 15, 20 or even 30 minutes before you realize it. There are studies that tell us just how much time social media sucks up every day. I’m sure the numbers are crazy. Look them up. Hang on, here’s one.

…but it’s a great way to keep in touch.

While social platforms may steal time like a thief in the night they are also a great way to keep in touch with people. Personally, I absolutely love being able to see what my friends from Australia and my cousins in another state are up to. I’ve also lived in four cities in the last two years so social media makes it really easy to keep in touch with friends from all over.

You feel compelled to share things…

Did you ever notice if something great happens in your life, or something not so great, you almost feel compelled to tell all your Facebook friends? I sure do. The more proud of the post you are the more you want to be acknowledged. Why aren’t there more likes? Why does Jane Doe always get so many more likes than me?! Why didn’t that one girl you said hi to at the bar one time like the post? What’s her problem? Jerk.

…but it also feels really nice to share things.

Sometimes when something awesome happens to me I want to shout it from the rooftops and let everyone know. Fortunately a Tweet, an Instagram post or Facebook post reach a hell of a lot more people than when I shout from a rooftop and it was really cool being at the Packers-Giants playoff game!

You find yourself judging people and “creeping” on people…

I don’t know about you, but if I become friends with someone new on Facebook or one of my friends gets a new boyfriend or girlfriend I find their Facebook profile and “creep” on them. It’s only right. I have to make sure they picked someone good. I’m only looking out for my friends and curious about their type and wondering if there’s an age gap…

Then there’s the more judgmental part of me. Did that guy seriously post another photo of his protein shake? Is it just me or does her shirt blend into the wall behind her? They used the wrong there! Just so everyone knows I’m a horrible person. There are people I remain friends with purely so I can judge them and hate on them a little bit. What?  I told you I’m horrible!

…but you’re not ready to get rid of it.

Even though I hate myself for what I just typed I am not ready to get rid of my social media accounts. The truth is as awful as it is, it’s human. It’s also nice to think about all the good things that come out of social media. It’s an easy way to build relationships and spread the word about causes or fundraisers, etc.

The pain of Timehop…

Sometimes when I see my memories or Timehop from years ago, especially when I first joined, it’s almost physically painful. I’m honestly not sure how I had friends. I was SUPER whiney and annoying. There are some things I am reminded of that I truly wish I could forget.

…and the joy of TImehop.

On the flipside, sometimes Timehop reminds me of something truly awesome and it can make my entire day better. For example, I studied abroad in Australia a few years ago and those memories will never get old. Or that one time…

Sometimes it feels like people overshare their lives…

There are some people who live through social media. I’m pretty sure I know when they change their socks. Those notifications and posts can get annoying sometimes.

…but that dog though.

I’m pretty sure I could live to be 100 and never see enough dog pictures and videos. SHARE MORE! THERE AREN’T ENOUGH!

Honestly there are days all I want is to delete my social media accounts and be done with it. What happened to calling people on the phone? Well, that’s just it isn’t it? No one is stopping you. Make more calls, spend less time on social media. Or don’t. We live in the age of technology and you can keep in touch with more people, more easily if you keep your social media accounts. On days when I feel lonely, I love that. 

Leave a Reply

