Questions young people hate hearing

Don’t you love it when curious relative ask those seemingly easy questions that leave you feeling lost? I bet you know exactly which ones I’m talking about. I certainly don’t have all the answers for those questions and I never have. However, when I entered my 20s I noticed I had less answers and there are were questions. I picked a few of my favorite questions to share with you and my thoughts on them.

Are you going to grad school?

No, I don’t think so. At this point it doesn’t make any sense for me to. Will I ever? I have now idea. It depends where life takes me.

Do you like your job?

Do you think I would tell you if I didn’t? I’m only going to tell you the highlights and what I love about it so you think I have my dream job. Heck, even if I love my job I’m still only going to tell you about the highlights.

What type of job are you looking for?

 One that pays. There are a lot of factors that go into accepting a position: location, pay, my interest and, honestly, if they’ll hire me. I’m willing to give you a vague idea or a description of my dream job but that’s about it. To be quite honest I’m not sure what’s next or what my dream job is.

Where’s the ring?

I don’t have one. I promise if I get engaged I won’t hide the ring so please stop asking me until I’m ready. Thanks.

Do you have a boyfriend/girlfriend?

Yes, he is in my back pocket. This type of information I would provide if I wanted to. I’d bring him if I was able to or tell you why he can’t make it. Chances are if there is someone I am interested in but it’s not official I’m not going to tell you about it because I don’t know what’s going on yet or it’s way too new.

What’s your plan?

Honestly my plan goes as far as the end of the day so there’s a good chance it involves me eating chocolate at some point. Past that I feel so lost most of the time I don’t know what’s going on at the end of the week much less years from now. What’s yours?

There are a lot of things to figure out after you graduate and become a real adult like getting a job, figuring out your insurance and budgeting properly to pay off student loans. Personally I’m super jealous of the people who land the perfect job and love it, have crazy budgeting skills or just seem to have all their ducks in a row. I feel like I can’t always find my ducks, much less put them in a row. Teach me your ways!

Leave a Reply

