Career Day Dilemma

So tomorrow I have to, scratch that, get to present at a Career Fair at the local High School. Yup, you read that right I get to go tell high schoolers what I do, how I got here and offer any advice I may have as they head toward their future careers. WHAT?!

Here’s the issue. My career journey thus far can be described more like a tumbleweed blowing in the wind than a determined young professional chasing her dreams. How I am supposed to sound like I know what’s up as I talk to these curious young minds when there are days when I feel completely lost? I don’t know how I ended up here and I don’t know where I’m going.

Here’s the other thing. I hate presenting. Standing up in front of people and talking for any amount of time is my least favorite thing ever. I participated in Forensics all throughout grade school and high school in the hopes I would become a better presenter. Nope! I don’t think I improved at all.

When I think about how things will go tomorrow I flash back to when I was in High School and I felt like I was constantly being judged. Considering some of my fashion choices back then it shouldn’t be a huge surprise, but I was scared everything I did and said was being judged. Granted it was high school and that’s not entirely wrong it’s also largely blown out of proportion. Nonetheless when I think about tomorrow all those all feelings come back and I know that’s what’s going to happen.

I’m being ridiculous. It was not that long ago that I was one of those high schoolers. I know they won’t care what I have to say. More than likely, they are just excited to not have to go to regular classes all day. I could talk to them in a monotone for a half hour and they wouldn’t care because they basically have a free day.

I need to chill. I know I’m looking at this the wrong way. If I can give advice or inspiration to just one high schooler then I have succeeded. I need to look at this as a great opportunity and not a punishment. These students don’t need to know where I’m going with my life. They’re just starting out too. We’ll figure it out together.

 

Leave a Reply

