My Twentysomething Diet

I would just like to start out by saying I have mad respect for all the moms/dads/sisters/brothers/people out there who work all day and still manage to have a well-balanced, delicious meal on the table at dinner time. I have yet to develop this skill and am very excited for when I do.

Until then, my meals are all over the places. Some days I do manage to have a well-balanced reasonably good meal on the table at dinner time. Other days I eat popcorn and a handful of M&Ms and call it dinner. Some days I eat at a reasonable time like 5:30 p.m. or even 6:30 p.m. Last night I ate dinner at 9 p.m.

It’s not for a lack of trying. I have bookmarked, pinned and printed tons of recipes and have even tried a bunch of them. What it comes down to is poor planning and time, but mostly time.

I have the best intentions in mind, but I don’t always remember said intentions when I am grocery shopping and should be purchasing ingredients for meals. That or I don’t plan the meal until the day of and have to make a quick run to the store. Sometimes I forget an ingredient. When I remember all the ingredients sometimes I try to cook the recipe and it tastes weird or I burn it.

There are days, even weeks sometimes, where I have things planned out better and I have all the ingredients I need and the meal even tastes delicious, but then that pesky time factor comes into play.

I get home from work at 4:30 p.m. That’s actually earlier than most people so you’d think I could figure something out. Not so much. By the time I run and/or lift it and shower it always seems to be 6:30 p.m. at the earliest. So if you figure in prep time and cooking time I then end up eating dinner around 8 p.m. The struggle is real.

You know what? Maybe they use Time-Turners! Where do I get my Time-Turner? Will it come to me in time? Should I just give in and make my dinner time 8 p.m. officially? Teach my your ways!

Leave a Reply

