Confessions of an Overexplainer

I overexplain everything. Sometimes I can’t stop the words from coming out of my mouth, but most of the time I feel a need to keep talking. Even when I see comprehension or boredom on the face of the person I am conversing with I still keep talking.

The thing is I think I may unintentionally insult people, confuse them or annoy them. So give me a minute to explain these situations to you.

When I go on about something you may have done incorrectly…

I’m not trying to belittle you or continue to point out your mistake. I realize that is probably how it comes across but that’s not what I’m trying to do. I just want to explain it especially if there is one small detail you missed or clarify something to prevent you from making the same mistake in the future. I’m trying to help you.

When I keeping talking about a mistake I made you pointed out…

I want to explain to you why I did what I did even though it was wrong because I want you to understand why it happened. I also want to clarify the issue so I can fix it moving forward.

When I give you the world’s longest answer to a simple question…

I feel like it makes more sense if I give you an abundance of information instead of an abbreviated version. I just want you to get the answer you seek.

When I offer an excuse for ordering fast food instead of making dinner…

I feel guilty for doing it and I need to explain to you that I don’t always do it. I’m not lazy and I can cook. I just want you to know that.

When I ask you for a favor and explain why I need it long after you have agreed…

It’s because I don’t want you to think I’m trying to take advantage of you. I want you to know just how much I appreciate it and how great you are.

I think it’s safe to save I have a problem. Fortunately I have finally stopped denying it and plan to work on it moving forward. So please if I babble at you and continue to explain something that does not need to be explained please do not be offended, annoyed or insulted. Bear with me as I try to break the habit.

 

Leave a Reply

