Things you hear when you get a puppy

I am officially the mother of the cutest little puppy on the planet. Seriously, he is absolutely adorable. I may be a a little bit bias but look at this picture and tell me I’m wrong:

IMG_3140

He’s not perfect. He’s still working on potty training and sleeping through the night. However, he is already doing better than I thought he would be at this point. Although he does have a chewing problem. Meaning he literally wants to chew on everything and I mean everything from hands to furniture. We’re working on it.

Anyway, prior to bringing Thor home and over the past few days there are few things people have told me about my new baby. Some of the tips and compliments were appreciated while other things surprised me.

First, there is the obvious. Tons of compliments about Thor’s unbelievable cuteness. And who can blame them? He is adorable as most dogs are.

Then there are the training tips. Most of these are super helpful. As a first time dog owner it’s great to know what works and tips to make my life easier. Thor, like most puppies, is a troublemaker and it’s reassuring to know not just what is written on training websites but also what has worked with other pets.

It’s the input I received prior to getting Thor that surprised me the most. People are very opinionated about dogs. Let me explain. (I promise to try my hardest not to over explain).

Not surprisingly people prefer one gender of dog over the other and they are not afraid to tell you why. Just bringing up the topic of a future pet elicits this list of reasons why this gender is better and don’t even consider getting the other gender. That would be a huge mistake.

Then there’s the name. Some people believe there are only certain types of names that are okay for dogs and this is why. It’s tough to pick a name for your pet and when we finally settled on Thor, not everyone was thrilled. People are not afraid to tell you they don’t like  your pets name and why.

Finally, there are the questions about where you get your puppy and the breed. Are you rescuing the puppy? Why  or why not? Did you know those dogs are some of the best behaved because they are so grateful to be rescued? Did you know that those dogs have the most issues because of their backgrounds? Did you know that breed has this big problem?

It’s a lot to think about. Fortunately, I am super happy with our decision. I know my little corgi is going to be a lot of work, especially while he still gets up at night and works on his potty training. But also he’s a ton of fun. While he only weighs about three pounds he has a huge personality with the perfect amount of weird. I love you Thor.

 

Leave a Reply

